presidents of india

↓ Name  ↓ Portrait  ↓ Took office  ↓ Left office  ↓ Political party  ↓ Vice President  ↓ Notes  ↓
1 Rajendra Prasad 26 January 1950 13 May 1962 Indian National Congress Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan Prasad was the first President of independent India.[7][8] He was also an independence activist of the Indian Independence Movement.[9] Prasad was the only president to serve for two terms in office.[4]
2 Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962 13 May 1967 Independent Zakir Hussain Radhakrishnan was a prominent philosopher, writer, a Knight of the Realm and also held the position of vice chancellor of the Andhra University and Banaras Hindu University.[10] He was also made a Knight of the Golden Army of Angels by Pope Paul VI.[11]
3 Zakir Hussain 13 May 1967 3 May 1969 Independent Varahagiri Venkata Giri Hussain was vice chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University and a recipient of Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna.[12] He died before his term of office was ended.
Varahagiri Venkata Giri * 3 May 1969 20 July 1969 Independent Giri was appointed as acting president following the death of Hussain.[13] He resigned in a few months to take part in the presidential elections.[5]
Muhammad Hidayatullah * 20 July 1969 24 August 1969 Independent Hidayatullah served as the Chief Justice of India, and was a recipient of the Order of the British Empire.[14] He served as acting president until the election of Giri as the President of India.
4 Varahagiri Venkata Giri 24 August 1969 24 August 1974 Independent Gopal Swarup Pathak Giri is the only person to have served as both an acting president and president of India. He was a recipient of the Bharat Ratna, and has functioned as Indian Minister of Labour and High Commissioner to Ceylon (Sri Lanka).[15]
5 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974 11 February 1977 Indian National Congress Basappa Danappa Jatti Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed served as a Minister before being elected as president. He died in 1977 before his term of office ended, and was the second Indian president to have died during a term of office.[16]
Basappa Danappa Jatti * 11 February 1977 25 July 1977 Independent Jatti was the vice president of India during Ahmed’s term of office, and was sworn in as acting president upon Ahmed’s death. He earlier functioned as the Chief Minister for the State of Mysore.[16][17]
6 Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25 July 1977 25 July 1982 Janata Party Muhammad Hidayatullah Reddy was the only Member of Parliament from the Janata Party to get elected from Andhra Pradesh.[18] He was unanimously elected Speaker of the Lok Sabha on 26 March 1977 and relinquished this office on 13 July 1977 to become the 6th President of India.
7 Giani Zail Singh 25 July 1982 25 July 1987 Indian National Congress Ramaswamy Venkataraman In March 1972, Singh assumed the position of chief Minister of Punjab, and in 1980, he became Union Home Minister.[19]
8 Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25 July 1987 25 July 1992 Indian National Congress Shankar Dayal Sharma In 1942, Venkataraman was jailed by the British for his involvement in the India’s independence movement.[20] After his release, he was elected to independent India’s Provisional Parliament as a member of the Congress Party in 1950 and eventually joined the central government, where he first served as Minister of Finance and Industry and later as Minister of Defence.[21]
9 Shankar Dayal Sharma 25 July 1992 25 July 1997 Indian National Congress Kocheril Raman Narayanan Sharma was Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, and the Indian Minister for Communications. He has also served as the governor of Andhra Pradesh, Punjab and Maharashtra.[22]
10 Kocheril Raman Narayanan 25 July 1997 25 July 2002 Independent Krishan Kant Narayanan served as India’s ambassador to Thailand, Turkey, China and United States of America. He received doctorates in Science and Law and was also a chancellor in several universities.[23] He was also the vice-chancellor of Jawaharlal Nehru University.[24]
11 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002 25 July 2007 Independent Bhairon Singh Shekhawat Kalam was a scientist who played a leading role in the development of India’s ballistic missile and nuclear weapons programs.[25] Kalam also received the Bharat Ratna.
12 Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007 Incumbent Indian National Congress Mohammad Hamid Ansari Patil was the first woman to become President of India. She was also the first female Governor of Rajasthan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: